right-click the element | Delete ()
or select the element | press Delete key
This will cause the element to be moved to the Recycle Bin () where it is kept until the recycle bin is emptied. This means that you can recover deleted elements later on.
For deleting annotations instead of folders or elements, see Removing Annotations.