- Enabling and configuring permissions on server locations only affects users accessing data through CLC software. If users have direct access to the data, using for example general system tools, permissions set on the data via the CLC Server has no effect. Changing the ownership of the files using standard system tools is not recommended and will usually lead to serious problems with data indexing and hamper your work on the CLC Server.
- Without permissions enabled on a file system location, all users logging into the CLC Server are able to access all data within that file system location, and write data to that file system locations. All files created within such a file system location are then also accessible to all users of the CLC Server.
If the "User homes" option is selected any data already present in the top level folder of such a file system location is readable by any user. In addition, if this area previously had group permissions applied to it, those permissions will no longer be active.