Delete, restore and remove elements
When one deletes data from a data folder in the Workbench, it is moved to the recycle bin in that data location. Each data location has its own recycle bin. From the recycle bin, data can then be restored, or completely removed. Removal of data from the recycle bin frees disk space.
Deleting a folder or an element from a Workbench data location can be done in two ways:
right-click the element | Delete ()
or select the element | press Delete key
This will cause the element to be moved to the Recycle Bin () where it is kept until the recycle bin is emptied or until you choose to restore the data object to your data location.
For deleting annotations instead of folders or elements, see Removing Annotations.
Items in a recycle bin can be restored in two ways:
Drag the elements with the mouse into the folder where they used to be.
or select the element | right click and choose the option Restore.
Once restored, you can continue to work with that data.
All contents of the recycle bin can be removed by choosing to empty the recycle bin:
Edit in the Menu Bar | Empty Recycle Bin ()
This deletes the data and frees up disk space.
Note! This cannot be undone. Data is not recoverable after it is removed by emptying the recycle bin.