A workflow has a version. The version is used to make it easy to distribute an improved version of the same workflow. To do this, create a new installer with an incremented version number. In order to install a new and updated version, the old one has to be uninstalled.
The way Biomedical Genomics Workbench checks whether a workflow already exists in a previous version is by looking at the workflow id. The id is a combination of the organization name and the name of the workflow itself as it is shown in the dialog shown in figure 9.37. Once installed this information is also available in the workflow manager (figure 9.44).
If you create two different workflows with the same name and using the same organization name when creating the installer, they cannot both be installed.