Configuring Workbenches to use network licenses

labelsec:workbenchnetworklicense Workbench users configure their software to connect to the CLC Network License Manager using the Workbench's License Manager.

Once configured, the information about how to connect to the CLC Network License Manager is stored in a file called license.properties under the settings directory in the installation area of the Workbench (e.g. C:\Program Files\CLC Main Workbench 21\settings\license.properties).

A running Workbench uses a Workbench license, whether or not the Workbench is being actively used. A Workbench needs to be shut down to release the license for others to use. It is possible to retrieve a license from running software, but in practice, a Workbench will immediately re-contact the license manager and thus would almost always get the license back right away.

The Workbench License Manager is shown in figure 5.1.

Image license_assistant_server
Figure 5.1: Select "Configure license server connection".

To configure the Workbench to connect to a CLC Network License Manager or CLC License Server, select the Configure License Server connection option and click on the Next button. A dialog appears, as shown in figure 5.2.

Image floating_license_step2
Figure 5.2: Connecting to a CLC Network License Manager or CLC License Server.

The options in that dialog are:

Special note on modules needing a license

A valid module license is needed to start a module tool, or a workflow including a module tool. Network licenses for modules are valid for four hours after starting the tool or the workflow. A process started (whether a module tool or a workflow including a module tool) will always be completed, even if its completion exceeds the four hours period where the license is valid.

If the tool or the workflow completes before the four hour validity period, it is possible to start a new tool or a workflow, and this will always refresh the validity of the license to a full four hours period. However, if the tool or the workflow completes after the four hour validity period, a new license will need to be requested after that to start the next tool or workflow.

These measures ensure that more licenses are available to active users, rather than blocked on an inactive computer, i.e., where the workbench would be open but not in use.